Change the time zone in Windows 7

By default, the time zone in Windows 7 is set to  -8:00 Pacific Time (US & Canada). There are multiple ways to change the time zone. This post shows you two ways to change the time zone in Windows 7.

Solution 1:

  1. Right click on the clock, at the right bottom of your screen, and click on Adjust Date/Time.
  2. Click on the Change time zone button
  3. Select the correct time zone and click OK. If you are in a region with DST, make sure you have checked the “Automatically adjust clock for Daylight Saving Time” checkbox.

Solution 2:

  1. Click the Windows Orb and type “cmd” in de Search box. Press Enter.
  2. Type TZUTIL /L and press Enter. TZUTIL is a tool in Windows 7 which lets you set the time zone from the command line.
  3. From the output of the command TZUTIL /L (which is quite a long list :) ), record the time zone you want to change to.
  4. Type TZUTIL /S “time zone . So, in case you want to change the time zone to (UTC+01:00) Amsterdam, Berlin, Bern, Rome, Stockholm, Vienna, you should type:  TZUTIL /S “W. Europe Standard Time”.

For more information about TZUTIL, just type TZUTIL and press Enter.

Leave a Reply

3 Comments on "Change the time zone in Windows 7"

Notify of
Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted

Thanks quick easy



I have an issue with the times zone in windows 7, for some reason they seem to have been erased and I dont know how to get them back. TZUTIL /L doesn’ t display anything nor does the roll down menu in the set time zone menu, it’s just blank.


The 3th and easiest solution is to move to one of the following cities:
Seattle WA
San Francisco CA
Los Angeles CA
San Diego CA
Las Vegas NV